Last Updated on Thursday, September 08, 2016 11:16:30 PM

Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)

Beg Berkunci 101 Parit Raja, Batu Pahat, Johor, West Malaysia  86400

TEL: +607-453 7000/7025/7020    FAX: +607-453 6337

The history of Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia started off on September 16, 1993. The university was then known as Pusat Latihan Staf Politeknik (PLSP). The core business of PLSP then was to train and produce polytechnics academic staff to become knowledgeable and skilful in various engineering fields. The training institute was jointly administered by Universiti Teknologi Malaysia and Ministry of Education.

Three years later, PLSP was upgraded to Institut Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (ITTHO). Dato’ Seri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak who was the then Ministry of Education made the official declaration of the new status on April 12, 1996. This promotion is an acknowledgment to the institution that has excelled in producing human resources for technical education.

As in 2013, Malaysia has :

1) 414 Private colleges
2) 37 Private universities
3) 20 Private University-colleges
4) 1 Public University-college
4) 7 Foreign branch campus
5) 20 Public universities


On September 27, 2000, the institute achieved another milestone when the Malaysian government has agreed to award a university-college status to the institute. This was to recognise its contributions in science and technology-based development as well as in helping the nation to achieve its aspiration. With the new status, the institution was known as Kolej Universiti Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (KUiTTHO) and the official announcement was made by Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Musa bin Mohamed, the then Minister of Education.

KUiTTHO continued to grow and progress, producing graduates who are skilful, knowledgeable and competitive. Consequently, the Malaysian government, on September 20 2006, has agreed to honour the college university a full university status and changed its name to Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia. On February 1 2007, Datuk Mustapha Mohamed, the Minister of Higher Education officially announced the change of status. Dato’ Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein Onn then made the official declaration of the change of name on March 2 2007.


 INDEX : Private Universities in Malaysia  September 08, 2016 11:16:30 PM

page hit counter