Sunday, 25 August, 2019 08:45:02 PM

Shanghai Jiao Tong overseas campus in Kuching City 上海交通大學古晉海外分校

Shanghai Jiao Tong overseas campus in Kuching City

Shanghai Jiao Tong University, one of China’s top four universities, will open its Sarawak Campus here within the next five years.

While waiting for the completion of the campus it will take in its first batch of students in Srawak in September 2014 using Chung Hua Middle School No.1 at Pending as one of its temporary campuses.

The university set a target of between 300 to 1,800 students at its temporary campus and up to 5,000 students from throughout Malaysia, Asean and China at its permanent campus.

The task of setting up of the campus is handled by SJT-UNI (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd headed by chairman Datuk David Teng who is also Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) treasurer.
The establishment of Jiao Tong University branch campus is parallel with the drive of Malaysia education blueprint to provide quality tertiary education to our Malaysian citizens, in particular to the people of Sarawak.
The setting up of Shanghai Jiao Tong University Campus Sarawak will help turn Malaysia into an educational hub of excellence in Asia.
Many first-hand cutting edge technologies have been created by Shanghai Jiao Tong University, including :
1- first man-made satellite,
2- first nuclear powered submarine,
3- first carrier rocket and also
4- world’s first operation of rejoining severed limb

With the establishment of the branch campus in Kuching, the university could transfer the technology it has to Malaysia.

The expertise the University will greatly help Malaysia in the development of high technology sector such as micro satellite to monitor environmental and natural resources, providing Sarawak that added boost to produce manpower for SCORE (Sarawak Corridor of Renewable Energy) which would require engineers and managers.

The establishment of the campus pave the way for Malaysian and Chinese bachelor degrees to be recognized in both countries.

The state of Sarawak currently has two private foreign university Sarawak campuses namely :
1- Curtin University in Miri
2- Swinburne University of Technology in Kuching

Shanghai Jiao Tong University was established in 1896 with ‘first class talent cultivation’ as its principle mission. The university is also known as the ‘Eastern MIT’ (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) because it is the top engineering university in China, producing over 200,000 graduates and top engineers.

Eleven (11) International University's branch campuses operating in Malaysia :

Shanghai Jiao Tong overseas campus in Kuching City
Shanghai Jiao Tong overseas campus in Kuching City

Swinburne University of Technology


Swinburne’s popular engineering and business programmes are accredited by professional bodies such as the Institution of Engineers Australia, Board of Engineers Malaysia and CPA Australia. The undergraduate computing programmes are accredited by the Australian Computer Society.

A student exchange programme is also available, where students can spend up to two semesters in Melbourne or at one of Swinburne’s partner institutions in Europe while paying Swinburne Sarawak fees.
Swinburne students in Kuching have the option of completing their studies locally or at main campuses in Melbourne.
It is a smooth transition, as the programmes and subjects offered at both campuses are the same.

Heriot-Watt University Malaysia Campus
2014 Putrajaya

Curtin University, Sarawak
Curtin University of Technology Sarawak Campus, Malaysia (Curtin Sarawak) is the first offshore campus of Curtin University of Technology Western Australia (Curtin Western Australia), Located in Miri, Sarawak, Curtin Sarawak is the first foreign university campus to be set up in East Malaysia.

Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia
Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia (NUMed) set itself apart by being the first UK university to establish a fully-owned international branch campus for medicine in Malaysia.
Offering a five-year Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) as their first programme, Newcastle alsoexpanded their repertoire with a bachelor’s in biomedical sciences and foundation programmes.

Monash University Sunway Campus
Monash University Sunway Campus offers students a broad range of disciplines to pursue, with the curriculum, facilities and academic strength to back it up.
Choices ranging from arts and social sciences, business and engineering, to information technology, medicine, pharmacy, psychology and science.
Monash has campuses in :
1- Australia,
2- Malaysia and
3- South Africa,
4- a research academy in India with the Indian Institute of Technology (IITB), and
5- a new research-intensive partnership in Suchou, Jiangsu Province in China.
There is also a Monash University Centre in Italy and a recently formed global alliance with Warwick University, UK.


University of Nottingham
Malaysia Campus

One of the first foreign universities entering Malaysia.
University of Nottingham is top-20 British school with a branch campus outside Kuala Lumpur.
Opened in 2000, the University serves a 4,000-strong student body.
University of Nottingham developed a research portfolio heavy on agricultural sciences, a specialization that could not be replicated in its urban U.K. campus.

University of Southampton Malaysia Campus (USMC)
Xiamen University Malaysia 廈門大學馬來西亞分校
Xiamen University Malaysia Campus

Raffles University Iskandar (RUI)

University of Reading, Malaysia UORM


Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter