Last updated Wednesday, 30 January, 2019 11:21:58 PM

Higher Education in Malaysia  →  Public Universities → UTHM

Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
(Previously known as : Kolej Universiti Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (KUITTHO))

Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)

Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
Timbclan Pendahar
Peiabol Penguruson Akademik
Beg Berkunci 101,86400 Porit Ro{a, Batu Pohot, Johor
Tel: 07-453 7681 Fax: 07-453 6085


Malaysian Technical University Network (MTUN) comprised :

1- Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Melaka (UTeM)
2- Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
3- Universiti Tun Hussein Onn (UTHM)
4- Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)

These four universities under the MTUN umbrella offered various technical and vocational courses at the diploma and first degree levels.

The three Premier Polytechnics were
1- Politeknik Ungku Omar (PUO)
2- Politeknik Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah (PSA)
3- Politeknik Ibrahim Sultan (PiS)
The entry qualification of these three Polytechnics is equivalent to that for Public Institutions of Higher Learning (IPTA).

As in 2013, Malaysia has the following higher education opportunities for secondary students:

1) 414 Private colleges
2) 37 Private universities
3) 20 Private University-colleges
4) 1 Public University-college
4) 7 Foreign branch campus
5) 20 Public universities
6) 24 Polytechnics
7) 37 Public Community Colleges

STREAM : Sciences & Technical

Programmes Diploma Level for SPM students

Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering
1 Diploma in Civil Engineering Technology 6
2 Diploma in Civil Engineering 6
3 Diploma in Civil Engineering with Education 6

Faculty of Electrical & Electronic Engineering
1 Diploma in Electrical Engineering 6 Sem S/T 6
2 Diploma in Electrical Engineering Technology 6
3 Diploma in Electrical Engineering with Education 6

UTHM - Universiti Tun Hussien Onn Malaysia

University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM) aspires to lead in market oriented academic programmes which are student- focused through experiential learning. The campus is located in Batu Pahat, southern part of Peninsular Malaysia. The University's history began on 16 September 1993 with the formation of Pusat Latihan Staf Politeknik (PLSP), which trained experts in various fields of engineering.
On 12 April 1996, PLSP was upgraded and known as Institute Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (ITTHO).
Subsequently through its scientific and technological contributions, ITTHO obtained university status and became Kolej University Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (KUiTTHO) on 27 September 2000.
On 1 February 2007, KUiTTHO was renamed and became University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM).
The University is committed in its quality management services as proven by the MS ISO 9001:2000 certification awarded by SIRIM on 28 December 2001.

Mission - To produce and train competitive professionals and technologists of high ethical values in the global arena through holistic academic programmes, knowledge and research culture, based on the concept of Tauhid.

Programme Outline

The undergraduate and diploma programmes offered at UTHM include:- Civil Engineering: Environmental, Water Resources/ Structural and Materials/ Woods, Geotechnics, Transportation, Building, Construction; Electrical Engineering; Telecommunication, System Automation and Robotics, Mechatronics, Electronic Communication; Mechanical Engineering, Manufacturing and Production; Technology Management:
Management Science, Production and Operation, Construction; Real Estate Management; Technical and Vocational Education; Technical Education: Electrical and Electronic Studies, Manufacturing Engineering Studies, Tourism Studies, Architectural Studies; Information Technology and Multimedia.
UTHM also offers postgraduate degree programmes (Masters and PhD) in Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Technical and Vocational Education, Technology Management, Real Estate and Facilities Management and Information Technology

Academic Facilities

• Library: University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM) library is well-stocked. It has some 75,000 monograph titles, about 6,300 magazines titles and close to 6/600 audio-visual titles and CD-ROM databases,
• Laboratory: A total of 70 laboratories complete with the latest equipment machines as well as advanced computer software packages.
• Lecture rooms: Sufficient number of lecture halls, lecture theatres and lecture rooms of which some can accommodate up to 220 students at any one time.
Scholarships / Financial Aid
• Scholarships and financial aid are available through various foundations and government agencies for deserving students.

Student Support Services
University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia UTHM provides several support services for its students. Some of the services offered are as follows:
• Orientation programme to familiarize new students with the support services and facilities at the university.
• Student accommodation is provided on-campus & off-campus
• Transportation services
• A wide range of extra co-curricular activities such as clubs and societies, sport & recreational activities
• Counselling for personal/academic needs
• Welfare services
Other international students support services include airport pick up, changing of currency and assistance in banking services/ visa application/ immigration-related matters.

Recognition and Achievement
• The University has established links with reputable institutions of higher learning in more than 11 countries such as Britain, United States/ Australia/ Germany Brunei/ France, Indonesia and the Philippines on academic collaborations/ student as well as staff exchange, and research.
• UTHM provides transportation daily for students staying at University accommodation outside the campus. Accommodation facilities include prayer rooms, rest rooms, guest rooms, group study rooms, photocopying services, cyber cafe, and more.
• Sports and Recreation: Include fields for football, hockey, rugby, netball, and softball and halls for squash and badminton, and a gymnasium,
• Bank: Bank Muamalat branch inside the campus as well as other banks around Parit Raja town (about 4km from the campus) such as Bank Bumiputra Commerce, Bank Simpanan Nasional, Public Bank and Maybank.

History of University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
September 16, 1993. Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia was then known as Pusat Latihan Staf Politeknik (PLSP). An institute to train and produce polytechnics academic staff with knowledgeable and skilful in engineering fields. The training institute was administered by Universiti Teknologi Malaysia and Ministry of Education.

April 12, 1996 PLSP was upgraded to Institut Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (ITTHO) by Ministry of Education. This promotion is an acknowledgment to the institution that has excelled in producing human resources for technical education.

September 27, 2000, the institute achieved another milestone when the Malaysian government has agreed to award a university-college status to the institute. .With the new status, the institution was known as Kolej Universiti Teknologi Tun Hussein Onn (KUiTTHO)
September 20 2006 KUiTTHO continued to grow and progress, producing graduates who are skilful, knowledgeable and competitive. Consequently, the Malaysian government, on September 20 2006, honor the college university a full university status and changed its name to Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia.
On February 1 2007, Datuk Mustapha Mohamed, the Minister of Higher Education officially announced the change of status. Dato’ Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein Onn then made the official declaration of the change of name on March 2 2007.

Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter