Last updated Monday, 28 January, 2019 09:21:47 PM

Higher Education in Malaysia  →  Public Universities → UMP

Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
Bahagian Pengurusan Akademik
Kompleks Perkhiamatan Siswa
Karung Berkunci 12,25000 Kuantan, Pahang Darul Makmur
Tel: 09-549 2550 / 2557 Fox: 09-549 2555


Government of  Malaysia

Malaysia has 20 public universities :
| IIUM | UDM | UiTM | UKM | UM | UMK | UMP | UMS | UMT | UniMAP | UniMAS |




Malaysian Technical University Network (MTUN) comprised :
1- Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Melaka (UTeM)
2- Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
3- Universiti Tun Hussein Onn (UTHM)
4- Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)

These four universities under the MTUN umbrella offered various technical and vocational courses at the diploma and first degree levels.

The three Premier Polytechnics were
1- Politeknik Ungku Omar (PUO)
2- Politeknik Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah (PSA)
3- Politeknik Ibrahim Sultan (PiS)

The entry qualification of these three Polytechnics is equivalent to that for Public Institutions of Higher Learning (IPTA).

As in 2013, Malaysia has the following higher education opportunities for secondary students:

1) 414 Private colleges
2) 37 Private universities
3) 20 Private University-colleges
4) 1 Public University-college
4) 7 Foreign branch campus
5) 20 Public universities
6) 24 Polytechnics
7) 37 Public Community Colleges


Diploma Programmes for SPM students

1 Diploma in Chemical Engineering 6 Sciences & Technical
2 Diploma in Civil Engineering 6 Sciences & Technical
3 Diploma in Computer Science 6 Arts, Sciences & Technical
4 Diploma in Engineering (Industrial Electronic) 6 Sciences & Technical
5 Diploma in Mechanical Engineering 6 Sciences & Technical

Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
(Previously known as : Kolej Universiti Kejuruteraan & Teknologi Malaysia (KUKTEM))


Bachelor of Applied Sciences (Hons) Industrial Chemistry

545 (Applied Science)

Bachelor of Chemical Engineering

524 (Chemical and Process)

Bachelor of Civil Engineering

526 (Civil Engineering)

Bachelor of Computer Science (Computer System & Networking)

481 (Computer Science)

Bachelor of Computer Science (Graphic & Multimedia Technology) with Honors

481 (Computer Science)

Bachelor of Computer Science (Software Engineering)

481 (Computer Science)

Bachelor of Electrical (Electronic) Engineering (Hons)

523 (Electronics and Automation)

Bachelor of Industrial Technology Management with Honors

345 (Management and Administration)

Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering

521 (Mechanics and Metal Work)

Bachelor of Occupational Safety and Health with Honors

862 (Occupational Health and Safety)

Bachelor of Project Management with Honors

345 (Management and Administration)

Diploma in Chemical Engineering (Process Plant)

524 (Chemical and Process)

Diploma in Civil Engineering

526 (Civil Engineering)

Diploma in Computer Science

481 (Computer Science)

Diploma in Electrical Engineering (Industrial Electronic)

523 (Electronics and Automation)

Diploma in Mechanical Engineering

521 (Mechanics and Metal Work)

Kolej Universiti Kejuruteraan dan Teknologi Malaysia
(KUKTEM) Pahang Branch Canpas Desa Samudra Indera Mahkota 8
Bandar Indera Mahkota 25280 Kuantan Pahang Malaysia
    Tel: 609-5721901 Fax: 609-5721911

Kolej Universiti Kejuruteraan dan Teknologi Malaysia (KUKTEM) or The University College of Engineering and Technology Malaysia was established by the Government of Malaysia on February 16, 2002. Incorporated under the University and University College Act 1971 by the Royal Decree of His Majesty the Yang Dipertuan Agong, KUKTEM was set up as a competency-based technical university that specializes in the fields of engineering and technology. Based in the east coast state of Pahang, the biggest state in Peninsular Malaysia and one of states with vast areas of rainforest endowed with a wide range of biodiversity and natural resources, KUKTEM focuses mainly on two major areas, which are:

Chemical Engineering & Industrial Biotechnology.
Automotive Engineering and Manufacturing.

At present, KUKTEM has five faculties offering 22 degree and five diploma programmes at the undergraduate level as well as Master's and PhD programmes at the post graduate levels. The five faculties and one centre of learning are:

Faculty of Chemical & Natural Resources Engineering.
Faculty of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering.
Faculty of Electrical & Electronic Engineering.
Faculty of Civil & Environmental Engineering.
Faculty of Computer Systems & Software Engineering.
Centre for Modern Languages and Human Sciences.

The University offers a wide range of post graduate (Master's & PhD) programmes. Currently the University offers postgraduate programmes by research. As for research, the University focuses on applied research and industrial project to enrich the teaching and learning process. As for R&D, the University has set-up five focus groups and four expert groups.

Focus groups:
i. Chemical & Biotechnology.
ii. Automotive.
iii. Manufacturing.
iv. Innovative Construction.
v. Information Technology (IT).

Expert groups:
i. Instrumentation & Control.
ii. Human Science.
iii. Environmental.
iv. Advanced Material.

Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter